European Environment Agency

About EEA

The European Environment Agency (EEA) was launched by the European Union (EU) in 1993 with a mandate to orchestrate, cross-check and put to strategic use information of relevance to the protection and improvement of Europe's environment.

The Agency, based in Copenhagen, Denmark, has a mandate defined by Council Regulation (EEC) No. 1210/90 to ensure the supply of objective, reliable and comprehensive information at European level, enabling its member states to take the requisite measures to protect their environment, to assess the result of such measures and to insure that the public is properly informed about the state of the environment.

The geographical scope of the Agency's work is not confined to Member States of the EU; membership is open to other countries that share the concerns of the EU and member states and the objectives of the Agency. Current membership includes all 15 EU states, as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

The Agency will carry out its tasks in co-operation with the European Information and Observation Network (EIONET). EIONET was set up and is co-ordinated by the Agency. EIONET consists of national networks, organised by the Agency to help it retrieve information, identify special issues and produce efficient and timely information on Europe's environment. The Agency uses not only existing capacities in member states, but co-operates actively with other bodies and international organisations to build synergy and to avoid duplicate efforts.

For further information about the EEA contact them at the address below or click here to enter the EEA website

Information Source

Prepared by ...
European Environment Agency
Kongens Nytorv 6, DK-1050 Copenhagen K, Denmark
Telephone +45 33 36 71 00 Facsimile +45 33 36 71 99
E-Mail [email protected] Web URL