Barbados National Trust
The little island of Barbados possesses not
only great natural beauty, but a wealth of architectural styles - from charming
chattel houses to solid parish churches, from stately plantation houses to old
army barracks and much more - over 550 years of architectural
The Barbados National Trust was founded in
1961 to preserve the unique heritage of our island home, be it historic
buildings, places of natural beauty or the island's flora and fauna. The Trust
works to ensure that the public has access to as many of them as possible, and
it actively promotes restoration and preservation. It also places plaques, with
the permission of the owners, on buildings of historic and architectural
interest. The Trust administers 8 properties, photographs of which are shown in
our brochure, available on request from the Barbados National Trust
Ronald Tree House
10 Avenue, Belleville, St. Michael
Headquarters of the Barbados National Trust commemorates its founder, Ronald
Tree. It was built in 1893 and purchased by the Trust in 1983. It is a typical
example of a Victorian Barbadian house, in historic Belleville, the first
planned suburb in the country.
In 35 years, the Trust
- restored an 18th century Georgian mansion - Wildey House -
the new Trust Headquarters
- purchased and maintained the Welchman Hall Gully
- accepted the Sugar Mill at Morgan Lewis, St. Andrew and
maintained it since 1962 with its original machinery intact.
- restored Gun Hill Signal Station in St. George and the Cotton
Tower Signal Station in St. Joseph.
- purchased and restored the historic 1854 mansion "Tyrol Cot,"
and created the Chattel House Village in the grounds.
- prepared a report recommending the establishment of an
underwater National Park on the West Coast, a project augmented and completed
by the Government.
- commissioned and partly financed a study of Harrison's Cave,
the development and completion of which was undertaken by the
- listed buildings of historic and architectural
- listed in the Hutt Report places of natural beauty worthy of
- landscaped along the East Coast Road from 1966 to 1970.
advised against developments hostile to the environment.
- cosponsored weekly Sunday hikes around Barbados.
- run an increasingly popular winter Open House
- published a valuable collection of books on local
- established the Sir Frank Hutson Sugar Museum, St.
- taken over the management of Andromeda Botanic Gardens, St.
- established the Paul Foster Library at the Trust.
- positively identified Bush Hill House as the house in which
George Washington stayed when he visited Barbados in
For more details about the work of
the Trust, please contact the address below.
Executive Director, The
Barbados National Trust,
Wildey House, Wildey, ,
St. Michael,, Barbados, W.I.
426-2421 Facsimile (246)
[email protected] Web URL